Amazon Warriors wins Jubilee parade award

first_imgThe Guyana Amazon Warriors were among those awarded for their extraordinary performance at the float parade to mark Guyana’s 50th independence anniversary.In a night of high achievements, the Amazon Warriors topped their group in the category of large Semi-Costume designed by Jermaine Broomes.With rags, flags and heavy rhythm, those on the Amazon Warriors truck gained loud cheers and support from the gyrating revelers, as the truck drove along the parade route.Some of the winners including Amazon Warriors representative (second from right)Faye Smartt-Scott with their trophiesChristopher Barnwell, Paul Wintz, Stephen Jacobs, Devendra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Assad Fudadin, Anthony Bramble and Coach Roger Harper, were among those who gyrated with the Warriors in the parade.The awards ceremony was hosted by the National Commemoration Commission under the Education Ministry’s Department of Culture, Youth and Sport, at the National Cultural Centre on Friday evening.Present at the event were Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo, Minister within the Finance Ministry Jaipaul Sharma and Minster within the Ministry of Education Nicolette Henry, who played an integral part in the Jubilee celebrations.Delivering remarks at the event, Minister Henry highlighted the impact the celebrations had, not only locals, but the vast number of people who travelled to Guyana’s shores to be a part of Guyana’s 50th independence anniversary.Palm Court representative Lisa Lewis receiving the 1st prize for best decorative business place from Minister of Culture Nicolette HenryMinister Henry also thanked Television Guyana, Channel 28 (TVG) and the National Communications Network (NCN) for their integral role in bringing the celebrations into the homes of thousands who could not join in the float parade on the streets of Georgetown.Digicel was outstanding in the competition, winning two first places including the first place for the best commercial float.Among the big winners was Region Six, copping the full costume prize, as well as the Ministries of Public Health and Natural Resources.Bank of Guyana also walked away with the special 50th Golden Jubilee award for their creativity and illumination. Schools such as the Sophia Special School, business hubs such as Palm Court and individuals such as Alexander Bell were all winners for their creativity and décor of their buildings.The designers claimed their prizes as well, with designer Neilson Nurse winning the Designer of the Year award and Olympia Small-Sonaram, designer of both Digicel’s top prizes.Meanwhile, the Amazon Warriors will come out under new Captain, New Zealand’s destructive top order batsman Martin Guptil, who has been with the Amazon Warriors since the inaugural tournament in 2013.The Amazon Warriors will be hosting the inaugural winners Jamaica Tallawahs on July 7 (19:00h), the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots (12:ooh noon), defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders (19:00h) and the St Lucia Zouks (19:00h) at the Guyana National Stadium, Providence, East Bank Demerara.last_img

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.