Donegal decide to play a bit in the second half do enough

first_imgDerry 0-11Donegal 1-11DONEGAL DELIVERED A second-half blitz to topple Derry and clinch a place in the Ulster SFC semi-finals.In a dour and defensive game that will quickly be forgotten, Leo McLoone’s goal four minutes after the restart tipped the balance in favour of Jim McGuinness’s men.His fine finish sparked a game-changing run which saw Donegal put up 1-5 without reply by the time Derry got their first score of the second half in the 50th minute.By that stage the two-point lead which Derry held at the break, 0-6 to 0-4, had quickly been wiped and Donegal were on their way to a meeting against either Fermanagh or Antrim on 22 June.For Derry, it’s another year in which they have failed to carry their promising league form over to the Championship.After a dull first half dominated by handpassing, blanket defence and wasteful shooting, this game became a little bit more lively in the second.Donegal captain Michael Murphy, who played most of the opening period in a deeper midfield role, reverted to the full-forwards where he was far more effective. He had an important hand in McLoone’s goal and finished with four points (three frees).A free from Mark Lynch, and points from Benny Heron and Emmett Bradley brought Derry back to within a goal as the game entered the final 10 minutes.But they could never close the gap and points from sub Martin McElhinney and McLoone secured Donegal’s progress, showing the Oak Leaf towards the back door.Scorers for Derry: Lynch 0-4 (3f), E Bradley 0-3 (2f), Herron 0-2 (1 45′), Holly, McFaul 0-1 each.Scorers for Donegal: McLoone 1-1, Murphy 0-4 (3f), O’Connor, Toye, Lacey, Thompson, McBrearty, McElhinney 0-1 eachDerry1. Thomas Mallon2. Dermot McBride3. Gareth McKinless4. Chrissy McKaigue5. Kevin Johnson6. Mark Lynch (capt)7. Gerard O’Kane8. Fergal Doherty9. Patsy Bradley10. Ciarán McFaul11. Sean Leo McGoldrick12. Enda Lynn14. Emmett McGuckin15. Cailean O’Boyle24. Emmett BradleySubstitutes: Ryan Bell for O’Boyle (43), Benny Heron for Holly (48), Oisin Duffy for Johnson (58), James Kielt for E McGuckin (60), Ciaran McGoldrick for E Bradley (67).Donegal1. Paul Durcan2. Éamonn Mc Gee3. Neil McGee4. Karl Lacey5. Frank McGlynn6. Leo McLoone7. Anthony Thompson10. Christy Toye11. Ryan McHugh12. Odhrán Mac Niallais13 Patrick McBrearty14. Michael Murphy15. Colm McFadden19. Paddy McGrath23. Darach O’ConnorSubstitutes: Martin McElhinney for Toye (HT), Neil Gallagher for O’Connor (43),Luke Keaney for McBrearty (65), Dermot Molloy for McFadden (67).Donegal minors see off Derry to reach semi-finallast_img

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.