Messi named in 35man provisional Argentina World Cup squad

first_imgJorge Sampaoli has named captain Lionel Messi, along with Sergio Aguero and Gonzalo Higuain, for Argentina’s provisional 35-man squad for this summer’s World CupLa Albiceleste reached the final of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, before losing 1-0 to winners Germany at the final stage.Since then, they have suffered further losses in the past two finals of the Copa America to Chile on both occasions with Messi nearly retiring from international football after their second defeat in 2016.Sampaoli has also included Paulo Dybala and Mauro Icardi, despite omitting the pair in the recent international break back in February.Argentina provisional 35-man squad:Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Manchester United, England), Nahuel Guzman (Tigres UANL, Mexico), Willy Caballero (Chelsea, England), Franco Armani (River Plate);FC Barcelona, Valencia CFMatch Preview: Barcelona vs Valencia Boro Tanchev – September 14, 2019 Is derby time in La Liga, as Barcelona welcomes Valencia to the Camp Nou Stadium tonight at 21:00 (CET).Defenders: Javier Mascherano (Hebei China Fortune, China PR), Federico Fazio (Roma, Italy), Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City, England), Gabriel Mercado (Sevilla, Spain), German Pezzella (Fiorentina, Italy), Eduardo Salvio (Benfica, Portugal), Marcos Rojo (Manchester United, England), Ramiro Funes Mori (Everton, England), Nicolas Tagliafico (Ajax, the Netherlands), Marcos Acuna (Sporting CP, Portugal), Cristian Ansaldi (Torino, Italy);Midfielders: Ever Banega (Sevilla, Spain), Lucas Biglia (AC Milan, Italy), Leandro Paredes (Zenit St Petersburg, Russia), Angel Di Maria (Paris Saint-Germain, France), Manuel Lanzini (West Ham United, England), Ricardo Centurion (Racing Club), Maximiliano Meza (Independiente), Guido Pizarro (Sevilla, Spain), Enzo Perez (River Plate), Giovani Lo Celso (Paris Saint-Germain, France), Rodrigo Battaglia (Sporing CP, Portugal), Cristian Pavon (Boca Juniors), Pablo Perez (Boca Juniors);Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Spain), Paulo Dybala (Juventus, Italy), Mauro Icardi (Inter Milan, Italy), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City, England), Diego Perotti (Roma, Italy), Lautaro Martinez (Racing), Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus, Italy).The final decision for the 23-man squad must be made by June 4.(Obtained by FIFA)last_img

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.